All residents of Niobrara County will be issued a library card at no charge. Patrons must show proof of residency with a local address before a card may be issued, (i.e., mail, receipts with local address and/or driver's license). The Niobrara County Library is a participant in the Wyoming Libraries Database network and observes the WYLD Card policy. (See attached policy).
Children cards through 8th grade require a parental signature.
Upon issuance of a Niobrara County Library card patrons are entitled to all library services. However, if library materials or privileges are consistently abused patrons may be restricted to the number of materials they are allowed to check out at one time.
Most materials are circulated for four weeks with the exception of new books, magazines (periodicals), and media materials which circulate for a two-week period.
Children may check out materials in the adult library. Parents, however maintain the ultimate responsibility for what the child checks out. If parents desire certain restrictions, they must notify the librarian and every effort will be made to comply with the parent's wishes.
Patrons are generally limited to 15 items at one time, however exceptions may be made considering the need of the materials. Video and audio materials are limited to five at a time.
Most materials are available for a two or four week renewal. If an item has a pending request the item may not be renewed. Patrons may renew via telephone, email or by bringing the item into the library.
Overdue fees are calculated on a daily basis. Fines are assessed at $.10 per item per day, following a four-day grace period. Fines are not charged for days the library is closed. Patrons will be notified via phone after an item is 7 days overdue. If the patron cannot be reached within a two-day period, a postcard will be sent. Patrons will be notified on a weekly basis until the materials are returned. Every effort will be made to retrieve the materials before declaring them lost. Generally an item will not be declared lost for at least 45 days from the due date and/or from the last time the patron was notified. Upon the declaration of lost items a bill will be sent to the patron. If there is no success at retrieving the materials the library may pursue reimbursement of the materials through the Niobrara County Justice Court. The patron will be responsible for fees associated with the filing of necessary documents.
Patrons with fines exceeding $1.50 in the adult library and $1.00 in the children's library may have checkout privileges suspended.
Patrons may reserve items that are not currently available for circulation. Patrons will be notified in when the material is available for them. Upon notification of availability, the material will be held for no longer than seven days before being released to the next patron. The patron's name will then be put back on the reserve list.
Items not held by the Niobrara County Library may be borrowed from other libraries, either in Wyoming or through out-of-state services.
Interlibrary Loan materials will assess a postage fee of a minimum of $2.00; heavier items may require additional postage charges.
Items are normally loaned for a four-week period and often may be renewed at the discretion of the lending library.
Patrons are notified of the expected postage charges at the time of the request.
The Niobrara County Library adopts the BCR Interlibrary Loan Code as well as the Interlibrary Loan Code for the United States. Reciprocal ILL agreements have been signed with BCR, LVIS and AMIGOS/BCR.