Community and the Western Landscape

Cormac McCarthy [Charles McCarthy, Jr.] (1933 -  )

All the Pretty Horses


  • Born in 1933 in Providence, Rhode Island; his nickname "Cormac" is a Gaelized version of Charles.
  • Twice married and divorced; has one child, Cullen, from first marriage.
  • Attended University of Tennessee.
  • Served in the U.S. Air Force from 1953-56.


  • Set his early fiction in Tennessee, but later became known as a writer of the Southwest.
  • Received the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Award in 1992 for All the Pretty Horses..
  • Wrote two additional books in what is called the Border Trilogy, The Crossing and Cities of the Plain..

Major Writings

The Orchard Keeper (1965)
Outer Dark (1968)
Child of God (1974)
The Gardener's Son (teleplay for PBS) (1977)
Suttree (1979)
Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West (1993)
All the Pretty Horses (1992)
The Crossing (1994)
Cities of the Plain (1998)

Biographical Sources, Critical Sources and Reviews

  • For critical and biographical information, see the following Gale publications:  Contemporary Authors, Volumes 13-16; Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series, Volumes 10 and 69; and Contemporary Literary Criticism, Volumes 4, 57, 59, and 101.   Gale Literary Database (Contemporary Authors Online) can be accessed online through a subscribing library at
  • New York Times Book Review, May 17, 1992, (available in online archives at
    "The Man Who Understood Horses" by Madison Smartt Belll. 
    Also, May 27, 1992, "Boys on Horseback, Loose in Mexico," by Herbert Mitgang.
  • Other print reviews:
    Los Angeles Times Book Review, May 17, 1992
    (Chicago) Tribune Books, May 10, 1992
    Washington Post Book World, May 3, 1992

Retired Discussion Series

Debbie Sturman, Director
425 South Main Street, P O Box 510
Lusk, WY 82225-0510
Phone: 307-334-3490
© 2018, Niobrara County Library